Wednesday, 17 April 2024 | Login
NPP Northern Regional chairmanship race gathers momentum

NPP Northern Regional chairmanship race gathers momentum Featured

The race for the Northern Regional chairmanship position of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has switched into higher gear as the five candidates who sailed through the vetting process of the party

intensified their campaign across the length and breadth of the region.

The incumbent Northern Regional Chairman of the party, Mr Daniel Bugri Naabu, has his banners and posters hoisted and pasted respectively at vantage points in the Tamale Metropolis with a new name, Abdul Fatawu Bugri Naabu.

According to an aide of Mr Bugri Naabu, the name Abdul Fatawu had been there since he switched from Christianity to the Islamic religion some years back and, therefore, the name is not new.

Although Mr Bugri Naabu enjoys a lot of popularity among NPP supporters and sympathisers across the region, he has four other strong contenders.

Chairmanship slot

The other four contestants: Mr Mohammed A. Baantima Samba, Alhaji Abdallah Hindu, Alhaji Musigu Sibawey and Amadu Inusah Dagomba Boy equally have their banners billboards and posters at vantage points in the central business district (CBD) area of the metropolis.

If the banners, billboards and posters would win the election for the five candidates, then the contest would be too close to call.

Other contestants

Forty-six others are going to battle for the remaining nine regional positions.

The incumbent Regional Secretary, Mr Sule Salifu, who is going for re-election, has other four contestants challenging him for the position, bringing the total number of candidates vying for the regional scribe position to five.

The other contenders for the regional secretary position are Abukari Iddrisu, Natoma Awusi Mahama, Sule Sambian and Mohammed Yussif Alhassan.

Those vying for the women’s organiser position are Hajia Safia Mohammed, Issahaka Sahadatu, Hajia Ayishetu Mahama, Hajia Rahana Aziz, Suraiya Manan and Hajia Zulfawu Amadu.

The regional organiser position has four contestants and they are Rashid Salifu (COP), Peter Wuni Baaga, Alidu Musah and Bashiru Mohammed.

Six people who are contesting the regional youth organiser position are Fredrick Tahiru, Atik Shiraz, Tamimu Fayal, Mohammed Alhassan Ghana, Adam Abdul Bashiru and A. Sham-Una Gazi.

The contestants for the second vice position are Hajia Amama Sayibu, Felicia Tettey, Yahaya Iddi Mutawakilu, Baba Kadiago, Hamdia Shahad Alhassan and Ibrahim Gariba.

The first vice-chair position is being contested by Iddrisu Sunday, Dr Salifu Nantogma Alhassan, Alj Iddrisu Sulemana, Abdul Rahman and Salisu Mahama, while five others are also contesting for the regional treasurer position and they are Peter Kwabena Dwomo Tuffour, Benjamin Mensah, Hussein Yussif, Alhaji Sibidow Alhassan Yakubu and Collins Kwesi Antwi.

Haruna Iddrisu, Alhaji Baba Alhassan, Abdallah Salifu Dc, Alhassan Abdul Jalil and Kwayaja Ngamiba, are going for assistant regional secretary while those for the Nasara Coordinator position are Sham-Una Ilyasu, Mohammed Shukurulah Bamba, Adam Abdul Fatawu,Sulemana Alidu and Abdul Rahman Meriga.

Additional Info

  • Origin: graphic/GhAgent