2 ECOWAS MPs Lose Slots

Simon Osei-Mensah Simon Osei-Mensah

Two members of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Parliament who hail from the Ashanti Region were among the big guns who fell during the New Patriotic Party (NPP) parliamentary primaries held at the weekend.

Mr Simon Osei-Mensah, the second Deputy Speaker of the ECOWAS Parliament, lost the Bosomtwe slot to Dr Osei Yaw-Adutwum, while Madam Elizabeth Agyemang also lost the Oforikrom slot to Dr Emmanuel Marfo, the former Constituency Chairman.

Both losers were vying for the slot for the fourth time but their dreams were cut short by the two doctors who contested the slots for the first time.

Dr Marfo, who is a research scientist by profession, got 356 votes to beat the incumbent MP, Ms Elizabeth Agyemang, who got 237 votes, while Dr Alex Ayojam polled 193 votes.

The other NPP MPs who are with the ECOWAS Parliament are Dan Botwe, Shirley Ayorkor Botwe and Fredrick Opare Ansah and they all won the primaries in their constituencies.

Additional Info

  • Origin: Daily Graphic: GhAgent